The municipal election will take place next Tuesday on June 8 at the Ferris B. O’Neal Senior Center.

The polls will be open from 7 a.m. until 7 p.m. for voters casting ballots in person.

Eligible voters may cast their absentee ballots for the June 8 municipal election now.

Many registered voters are eligible to vote with an absentee ballot because of age, health situations, work demands, being out of town or state for college, or because they are currently serving in the military.

If a registered voter will be out of town because of work demands, they are eligible to vote with an absentee ballot.

Residents can check with the Circuit or Municipal Clerk for eligibility guidelines to vote absentee and to learn more.

Residents can cast their vote for one candidate for mayor, alderman-at-large, and the aldermen candidates for their ward.

To vote absentee, residents must be registered as of May 10, according to the Mississippi Secretary of State’s office.

The candidates are as follows:

Mayor: Darrell Berry and William Scott Maddox Sr.

Alderman at Large: Mary Frances Carson, Sharon Jones-Crockett, Randy L. Williams

Alderman Ward 1: Brittany Harris

Alderman Ward 2: Ron Dyal and Ben Wright

Alderman Ward 3: Damian McKay and Mary E. Miles

Alderman Ward 4: Geralda McLendon and Darryl Stringfellow

Recommended for you