Stone County businesses and residents affected by flash flooding on May 8 – 9, 2019 can apply for low-interest disaster loans from the U.S. Small Business Administration, Acting Administrator Christopher Pilkerton announced recently.

Pilkerton made the loans available in response to a letter from Gov. Phil Bryant received Nov. 18 requesting a disaster declaration by the SBA.

The declaration covers Stone County as well as the adjacent counties of Forrest, George, Hancock, Harrison, Jackson, Pearl River and Perry.

“The SBA is strongly committed to providing the people of Mississippi with the most effective and customer-focused response possible to assist businesses of all sizes, homeowners and renters with federal disaster loans,” Pilkerton said. “Getting businesses and communities up and running after a disaster is our highest priority at SBA.”

SBA’s Customer Service Representatives will be available at the Disaster Loan Outreach Center to answer questions about the disaster loan program and help individuals complete their applications.

The Disaster Loan Outreach Center will open in Wiggins next Tuesday at the New Hope Road storm shelter located at 1084 New Hope Road.

Recommended for you